Michigan has specific car seat laws to protect babies and children who travel in motor vehicles. When someone violates these laws and injures your child, you should know your rights to compensation and justice.
When you need a Michigan car accident lawyer to fight for your child’s rights, contact Davis Injury Lawyers, PLLC. Here are some of the most notable car seat laws that could apply to your personal injury case.
Michigan Car Seat Laws
Car seat laws in Michigan are straightforward and to the point. You’ll need to be aware of several different regulations if you have children or if someone else will be driving with your child, including:
- Children under four should rear-face until they reach the car seat height and weight limits
- Children aged four to eight need to travel in a booster seat if they are under 49 inches tall
- Children under four can only ride in the front seat, with a car seat, if car seats occupy all other seats
- Children under four may ride in the front seat only if the passenger side airbag is turned off
Is It Illegal to Leave a Child In the Car Unattended in Michigan?
Michigan law 750.135a makes it illegal to leave a child under six in an unattended car for any length of time. The law specifically states that children under six must be supervised by a person at least 13 years old.
Penalties for Leaving a Child Unattended
Individuals who leave children unattended can face criminal penalties. Leaving a child alone in a vehicle is a misdemeanor. Those convicted face up to 93 days in jail and fines up to $500.
Penalties increase if the child is injured, with incarceration up to one year and a maximum fine of $1,000.
If a child is severely injured, the liable party faces felony charges. These are punishable by up to 10 years imprisonment and $5,000 in fines. Should a child die due to leaving them unattended, the liable party could spend up to 15 years in prison and pay a maximum fine of $10,000.
Do This After a Child Injury from a Car Seat Violation
You could pursue compensation when someone fails to obey Michigan car seat laws and causes your child bodily injury. A car accident lawyer can help you pursue maximum compensation to cover medical bills, pain and suffering, and wrongful death if the injuries are fatal.
A negligent individual or party should be held accountable for your child’s injuries. An experienced car accident lawyer can build a compelling case against them.
Call Our Michigan Car Accident Lawyers
Was your child seriously injured in a car accident? You could recover compensation from the liable party who violated Michigan car seat laws.
Find out how much your claim could be worth. Contact a Michigan car accident lawyer at Davis Injury Lawyers, PLLC, to schedule your free consultation. Call 313-462-7979 or use our quick contact form. We will reach out to you to learn more about your child’s car seat injuries.